A Cursory Introduction

If you told me at the beginning of my degree that at its close I would be sitting in my flatmate’s bedroom, surrounded by a vegan banana mush-cake, chocolate chip cookies, and tea, writing about books read – past and present, I’d probably would’ve laughed and said “Good joke, pal.” And yet, here we are!

As you’ve probably gleaned from above, I’ve finished my humble university career studying English Literature in the small, quaint town of Aberystwyth. For the past three years I’ve had the pleasure to study a multitude of different texts – ranging from the grisly tales of Edgar Allan Poe to infamous theories of Sigmund Freud. It has been an absolutely incredible experience, and it’s been amazing meeting so many people just as enthusiastic (or against) the texts we were studying; it was a mutually beneficial relationship: between the students and course literature. But yet, I craved more.

After finishing the final essay of my degree, obviously the relief was palpable. I could breathe again. As a very fortunate man once said “I was blind, but now I see!” And that’s exactly what it was like for me. Don’t get me wrong, I loved my course with all my heart – but I still craved the freedom of reading books not on the curriculum. In some ways, I felt like the protagonist of countless Mills and Boon novels. The stable relationship between myself and my course books was always undermined by the ever-present allure of reading books outside the curriculum. It whispered sweet nothings into my normally responsible student mind, always tempting me to read just one more chapter, that it wouldn’t distract me from my education. But I grew wise of its wiles.

What will this blog be about? Primarily, books I’ve read in the past and present. What I think about them, and the reasons you should or should not read them. Perhaps it is selfish of me to indulge in such an activity so quickly after the end of my university career. But I can’t help to admit that it feels so beautifully freeing.

I’ve rambled on for long enough, I feel. I hope that within future reviews, you’re able to love the books I discuss just as much as I do.

But for now, have a good night!

Ben

Leave a Reply

