Christine by Stephen King: A Review

_MG_8102
If being a kid is about learning how to live, then being a grown-up  is about learning how to die.

 

Way back when, in the days of sixth form, I was engrossed with the supernatural. This was way before I had dug into the wonders of Lovecraft, or broached the brilliance of Poe. And yet, I was at a loss. My days of reading about love throughout the ages had become exhausting. I wanted something new. Through a friend’s introduction of Stephen King’s son, Joe Hill (thanks, Ellen!) I was able to see the genius of Hill’s writing, and move on to his father’s works too. So when I noticed this gorgeous looking novel in the charity shop for less than a pound, I knew I had to have it.

We’re introduced to the gawky, nerdy, character of Arnie Cunningham, a teenager more focused upon mechanics and education rather than the other influences a teenager might have. On his ride home with his friend Dennis, he notices the alluring figure of a 1958 Plymouth Fury, and of course, much to Dennis’ dismay, he must have it.

_MG_8104

One of the many things I enjoyed about King’s novel is the way that the relationship between Christine and Arnie was illustrated within the pages. Upon Arnie’s further improvement on Christine’s body, his own appearance improves with it. However, while the hints of Christine being a malevolent force is obvious, the tone darkens when Arnie meets his high-school sweetheart, Leigh Cabot. As their love blossoms and Arnie takes Leigh on a date, the full effect of Christine’s power becomes palpable, and Christine shows her true nature.

_MG_8103

Honestly, for someone who had just began reading Stephen King during my sixth form times, this book staggered me. The pacing and tension of the novel was fantastic, and it kept me up reading all night. King demonstrates the illicit relationship between man and object, and how one’s obsessions can ultimately drive you down the wrong path. And when I think about it, I can say that Christine is easily one of my favourite novels by King. And to add to the horror, as I finished it at 3AM, the last thing I heard was a car engine starting…

What author completely blew you away when you read them for the first time? Let me know in the comments, or on Twitter!

Until next time,

Ben

Leave a Reply

