The Name of The Wind: A Review

The_Name_of_the_Wind_(UK)_cover

Now, when I was first coerced by a friend to read the beginning of this series, I was skeptical. A 600 odd page novel anchored in a world completely foreign to my own, with no markers of familiarity? I surely thought I would struggle to read The Name of The Wind. Instead, Patrick Rothfuss gave me one of the most pleasurable reads of this year.

One of the things that I loved the most about The Name of The Wind was the layering of one narrative upon another. Readers will experience our main character, Kvothe recalls his time as a child to adolescent in the first person form, but when the readers are shifted to the present, they’re met a grown Kvothe, owner of a humble inn and retelling his story to his disciple, travelling scribe, and subsequently, the readers.

Even from a young age the readers expect great things from Kvothe, he originates from a troupe of travelling  bards, but even throughout the novel we are tantalised with more hints of Kvothe’s future greatness. One of the earliest accolades that Kvothe gains is ‘Kvothe The Bloodless.’ Interestingly, it was the simple use of such titles that drew me even further into the mystery that is Kvothe and his many misadventures.

The novel is divided into relatively reasonable sections. A particularly enjoyable fact is that the pacing for the novel was absolutely perfect; this relates back even more to Rothfuss’ form of storytelling. As he meticulously and delicately tells each element of Kvothe’s story, Kvothe himself becomes the main storyteller, and chooses which parts of his story to cover just as meticulously as Rothfuss himself. There is a distinct overlap between adventurer, legend, and storyteller, and both Rothfuss and Kvothe do a fantastic job in keeping the readers entranced by the tale.

After reading George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire series I had believed that the high fantasy genre had found its champion. Never have I been more happy to be wrong. The Name of The Wind took me on a journey – one of mystery, heartbreak, rage, and magic. This novel is easily my most interesting read of the year so far, and I still have the second book in the series to read. I can’t wait to grab the sequel and immerse myself in the world again!

 

What books/series have changed your view on the genre? Let me know!

Until next time,

Ben

 

Leave a Reply

