Graduate Life: Interviews and Beyond!

Now for the people who have the pleasure of knowing me/following my antics in real life, you’ll have known that recently due to a friend of mine’s recommendation, I should apply to a traineeship that was hosted by HarperCollins. Now originally, this was during the  late July period, and it was only by some miraculous design (and a very good spot by my friend) that I didn’t miss the application process at all. So on the final day of the online application I decided to apply. I mean, what’s the worst that can happen, right?

So lo and behold two weeks later I find myself in the depths of London. Normally I would ecstatic, over the moon even. But after a 6AM trip and an hour of being lost, I turned up dishevelled, discouraged, and distraught 1 hour after the program had started, at the beautiful hour of halfpast 10. By this point, I thought the opportunity for my dream job had been totalled before it even had a chance to blossom. Unbelievably, I hadn’t missed my interview. Only the introductory speech by the main staff. Grinning with relief,  was then notified I had two  minutes until my interview. All good, I’ve got this.

me being hilarious
The self deprecation is strong in this one.

So after my somewhat hilarious interview, I was then advised to network with current executives and my fellow applicants. Whilst conversing with the former was legitimately easy and fun (they now know about my blog, my rise to fame starts here!) the latter was more difficult as while the applicants were beyond lovely and  nice, I couldn’t help but consider them as rivals to my dream job. Admittedly, I’m sure they thought the exact same thing about me.

14012327_1434381476578149_1530639358_o

Afterwards, we were given a tour of HarperCollins, and it was beyond beautiful. If anything, it made me want to work there even more. I saw the rich history HarperCollins had to offer, and the future the successful applicants could have with the company. I knew I wanted more than anything to work here.

Alas, the day ended and after having the most amazing interview experience I was reassured that each and every individual applicant (all 50 of us) would know the outcome of our interview and if we would be invited back for another series of assessments and interviews in September. It is my pleasure to announce that I was one of the special 15 who made it into the final stage! I’m both nervous and excited, as this process will entail meeting some very important people. I don’t know what the future holds just yet, but more than anything I’m excited to face it head on.

This turned out to be a longer post than I thought, but I couldn’t help but share the news with you all! Have a good one guys, and I’ll be back soon.

Until next time,

Ben

9 comments

  1. Congratulations! HarperCollins is beyond fantastic – I spent a week doing work experience with their communications team (and blogged about it, if you’re interested). It was undoubtably the best week ever 🙂 Good luck with the next stage!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

