Before I begin my review, I’d just like to say again, thank each and every single one of my readers who have not only read of my current ventures, but have given me words of support throughout. It means much more than you know. Now, without further ado here are my thoughts on The Girl On The Train.

*

There’s something therapeutic about travelling by train. Perhaps it’s the rhythmic movement of the train against the rails, or the sights that passengers take in while travelling from one place to another. However, this is not entirely the case for one of our protagonists, Rachel Watson. We follow her narrative through somewhat inebriated eyes, as she tells us in meticulous detail of her own self-destructive tendencies. However, Rachel is not entirely to blame for her own derailment; the complete destruction of her marriage, as her ex-husband Tom leaves her for another woman (Anna) is what we believe to be the trigger to her downfall.

I was hesitant to even review this book, purely because of the numerous times I had to stop and reread passages. What I had difficulty with in The Girl On The Train is that while I have introduced Rachel in this review, Paula Hawkins powers the narrative through the eyes of Megan, a woman bored of her life and seeks excitement through a series of lovers and short-lasting flings, and Anna, the replacement to Rachel in Tom’s eyes.

I find the fact that I had difficulty following the flow of events baffling, as I remember reading Gone Girl, and the narrative shifted from past to present with startling ease. My belief is that as we are expected to juggle the events of Megan, Rachel, and Anna in quick succession (both past and present), it does shift the reader’s attention to different events very swiftly.

As we follow the narratives of Anna, Megan, and Rachel, we begin to see a much darker tale unfold. Rachel continues to struggle with the dissolution of her husband, the loss of her job, and the crippling alcoholism, Anna has to deal with the constant harassment of a constantly intoxicated Rachel, and Megan… Has her own demons to battle. While I had difficulty following the narrative at points, and I personally feel that watching the film variant will be invaluable to enjoying the plot, Paula Hawkins does well to create a menagerie of deceit, unfaithfulness, and downright tension. However, if you found your reading experience to be somewhat lacking, I would recommend you to not only finish the book, but also watch the film and see how your experience varies.

How do you feel about Girl On The Train? Let me know!

Ben

Leave a Reply

