Graduate Life: HarperCollins! (Part 4)

Wow! It’s been a while since I’ve made one of these posts – turns out there’s no rest for the wicked. I just wanted to get a chance to settle in, but of course, when in Rome London I have to take things as they come.

What is it like to work in HarperCollins, you ask? There are many apt comparisons that I’ve made during my current time here. In my head, I am Andrea, champion of the big city and featuring in my own version of The Devil Wears Prada. In reality, I am closer to a very handsome, albeit very stressed plate spinner trying to balance a variety of responsibilities on very fragile sticks.

At least, that’s how I felt during the first week. As my time spent at HarperCollins has reached its halfway point, I feel much more comfortable in my role. As I currently work in the Children’s department, my responsibilities vary each day. I’ve had the pleasure to promote titles to various organisations, submit published works to competitions, and even get the chance to meet the agent of one of my favourite YA series! Through the past couple of weeks I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to see how the world of publishing really works, and hopefully I’ll be able to continue my journey into the publishing scene.

I’ll be sure to add some pics in the next post!

Ben

Leave a Reply

